The ease of international travel and the spread of various kinds of mass media all over the world have made it more possible than ever for people to know how other people live in other countries. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, advancements in technology have brought us the easiness of accessing information about people in other nations through many types of mass media. At the same time, it is considered trivia for individuals to arrange travel abroad. While there are valid arguments from the critics about this development, I personally believe the positive impacts outweigh the negative ones. On one hand, being defensive of something unknown is an instinct imprinted in our blood. Naturally, this pushes us to live together in a group within a closed border in order to gain protection. However, there are not many parties capable of reaching self-sufficiency and raising the need to get that externally. The history of humankind showed us, that this need built an aggressive tension between nations, which in the end led us to World War I and II. Learning from that mistake, humans should risk the safety of a nation's privateness to try to understand and care about others. Reading news about them or even visiting them are great ways to increase empathy for outside nations. Furthermore, those activities would also create trust and lead to strategic partnerships which is going to be beneficial for all of us. For example, the trade of culture and food was proven effective in increasing the stickiness of people from different backgrounds. To conclude, while the simplicity of international travel and accessing people from other nations is increasing the risk to the nation's security, the advantages really strongly overbalance the former arguments. If, in the future, nations could filter the information and the people properly, the disadvantages would fall all the way.