Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

As a matter of fact, relationships and bonds with others have been essential to maintain a well-structured community. It is believed that the fast pace of the revolution in technology has not only affected the way we communicate with the surrounding people, but also the kinds of relationships we build with them. In this essay, I will discuss the different ways of contact and give examples on their effects. The channels of connection have extremely changed over the years. In the past, people had only few and limited methods to contact together. For example, if someone lived in Africa and wanted to call his friend in Europe, he would not be able to do so, because the phones were not popular yet, so he had to send him paper letters or a recorded tape, which might have taken days to reach his friend. Despite these challenges, people were able to keep strong ties with others around the world. On the other hand, in the modern life where phones and social media evolved, it has become very easy and convenient to text or call anyone at any time, no matter where he is. As a result, a new virtual life was created; social media platforms, websites, video calls and even official meetings could be done online without the physical existence of the audiences in the same place. For instance, during the outbreak of COVID19, many companies decided to hold all its meetings online to avoid the transmission of infection between the employees. Moreover, the technological developments have both negative and positive impacts. Starting with the benefits, they have made our life easy and facilitated and solved lots of link issues; parents can contact their children when they are away from them, and injured people can easily call the emergency. When it comes to the demerits, they have brought about tons of family issues which led to weak family connections and broken friendships. In conclusion, it cannot be denied that modern communication styles have changed the nature of the relations we make, however, they have their own advantages and disadvantages.