Some people think that single-sex schools are better than mixed schools. Others believe that mixed-sex schools are the only way for children to learn. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Education plays a significant role in everyone’s life. Although it is often believed that students in single-sex schools have better academic achievements, many people support the view that mixed schools prepare students for their future. From my perspective, children should study in co-educational schools. On the one hand, there are some benefits in studying separately. To begin with, both boys and girls are not distracted by the opposite sex and do not pick on each other. Thus, they can focus on their learning and make a better progress in a comfortable environment. Moreover, boys and girls learn in completely different ways, so they should be educated separately. For example, boys have more logical thinking, whereas girls’ mind is based on feelings and emotions. On the other hand, there is no sense in separating children. Firstly, pupils studying at mixed schools can learn from each other, pick up some new skills or traits and develop team working skills with the opposite sex, which is extremely important in the modern society. Secondly, mixed schools give an opportunity for more effective learning because there is competition between girls and boys. Consequently, students tend to get better exam results and do not miss lessons. In my opinion, mixed-sex schools are the only way for children to learn, because such schools reflect the real world. For instance, both girls and boys in co-educational schools develop their communicative skills, which will lead to a successful career and personal life. In conclusion, I am convinced that boys and girls should be educated at mixed schools. They need to study and grow up together, because it is necessary for pupils to adapt to the social life in schools.