Some companies sponsor sports as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good while others think there are disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Nowadays, many firms are approaching new strategies of advertising purposes such as sponsoring sports events to increase their sales. Although some people believe that this has many advantages, others think that there are some drawbacks to be taken into account. In my opinion, I consider sponsoring sports events can bring about more positives compared to any negatives it might bring Admittedly, there are minor disadvantages of sponsoring sports events by firms. One potential problem is that corporations can advertise products that are harmful to health. Tobacco companies, for instance, should not be allowed to fund sports events. If tobacco companies, among others, finance, sports players, they might bring negative consequences to those players. Another possible problem it that the company’s reputation can be tightly linked to players’ names. If the players become unsuccessful or misbehave, they affect the company’s name and its sales negatively. On the other hand, one of the main benefits of sponsoring sports events is the financial support that companies provide. Sports teams, for example, are given free equipment which they could not afford otherwise. As a result, players can concentrate on sports instead of being distracted by financial worries. Companies, furthermore, can link their name to the most successful players. For instance, when famous players advertise a specific product, their spectators hurry up to purchase that product. Consequently, these sportsmen provide more media exposure for the company and its brands as well increasing its sales to a higher rate. In conclusion, the benefits that sports can gain from being funded by firms such as the financial support and media presence they have, clearly outweigh any disadvantages.