In many countries schools have severe problems with student behaviour. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

In numerous nations, educational institutions are facing serious difficulties with the conduct of their pupils. This essay will suggest that poor parenting is the root cause of this phenomenon and also submit that a public awareness campaign is the most viable solution, followed by a reasoned conclusion. The principal cause of poor attitude in schools is poor discipline at home. Many mothers and fathers either do not have the time or the skills required to teach their youngsters the value of manners and respecting authority. This results in many young people not listening to their teachers, being rude and as well as actively rebelling against rules and regulations. For instance, a recent study by Cambridge University found that 1 in 3 teenagers would refuse to comply with a rule if they did not agree with it, compared to just 1 in 8 in a similar study in 1990. The most practical solution to this problem is a government sponsored awareness campaign. An effective advertising program could warn of the dangers of misbehaviour and hopefully raise awareness amongst the public. For example, the United Kingdom recently lobbied their citizens to teach their children about the importance of respecting teachers and the next thing is a dramatic improvement. In summary, widespread negative behaviour in the classroom is as a result of guardian not instilling the values of deference and civility in their offspring; however, this can be tackled through a public education programme that promotes these values. It is also recommended that people should attend parenting classes before their child starts kindergarten.