Many people feel it is a waste of money to try to save endangered animal species, for example the tiger or the blue whale. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

While a lot of individuals think that saving endangered animals is a waste of money, I disagree with this statement. I believe it is crucial to keep them alive as long as possible, because they are a critical component of our environment. On the one hand, some people feel that specific animals’ extinction is inevitable and suppose that there is no way to save them, so they see it as an unproductive use of world's resources. Losing some animals does not feel like a huge problem for them, because the consequences are not very obvious. Basically, it is more logical to focus on what really endangers our planet. For example, global warming is an issue that more people are concerned about, due to the fact that we see the actual effects from it, such as climate change, loss of ice or sea level rise. On the other hand, the importance of saving endangered animals is enormous. Everyone should have a right to live and each life is worth fighting for. Nevertheless, each animal is a part of a certain chain in our ecosystem, so those lost species increase the possibility for others to disappear too. Talking specifically about tigers, it is well known there are not so many of them left in comparison to the past. For instance, our zoo does have one tiger, and it receives a tremendous amount of care from the qualified working staff and the conditions are great as well. Also, its cage is the largest in the zoo, it literally feels like a forest. To conclude, although prolongering animal’s lives may not seem important for some people and may not affect them right now, in my opinion, it is our obligation to do the best that we can to care for endangered species.