The number of children that read books for fun has dropped dramatically in recent years. What are the reasons for this? How can we encourage children to read more?

It is a common fact that less children read books in their spare time in these recent years. For example, the majority of them prefer to play with video games and watching television in the free time, rather than reading books. For this reason, if this habit becomes extremely frequent, it distracts from reading for fun. The main cause is related to parents who, after work, do not have energy for encouraging their children to lecture: it can be difficult to convince a child to do something he doesn't enjoy; for this reason many parents let them in front of the TV in order to relax after a long working day. Consequently, children are less stimulated to read books since this action requires more concentration. Another notable reason related to the lack of interest for books, is represented by substituting paper books with tablets at school: there are several institutes that organise lessons throughout technological tools. For example, many teachers introduce lessons through films instead of a face to face lesson with students. These methods can be useful and faster in many circumstances; however, they do not involve pupils to read. I am convinced that it is possible to stimulate children to read throughout new daily habits which are funny at the same time: firstly, parents should read books more often to their children before going to sleep together with planning lecture activities in the weekends, such as creating story tales. Secondly, schools also have a relevant role: teachers could create a library in each classroom where pupils can choose a fiction; once the child finishes the lecture, he can introduce the novel in front of the class. Finally, it is important to involve children with fun activities, such as bringing them to book clubs where they can meet with their friends and talking about their favourite stories. Being surrounded by a family passionate about books along with taking creative initiatives at school as introducing libraries in every classroom, can encourage children to be more interested in books. To conclude, family members and teachers are important points of reference for this change; however, it's possible to see positive and long term results, with a lot of patience and creativity.