In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is true that in these days, many people decide to live alone compared to the past. In my opinion, this phenomenon has both positive and negative impacts to individuals and our economic development. On the one hand, the rise in one-person households can be seen as positive for both personal and broader economic reasons. In terms of individual perspective, people who choose to live alone may become more independent than those who live with family. For example, an adult need to take responsibility for their cost of living, such as rented house, and bills. As a result, the youngster learns how to take care and control their monthly finance. From an economic development perspective, the trend towards living alone will result in greater demand for housing. This leads to the fact that the construction industry creates more job opportunities for people. On the other hand, this phenomenon also has some negative developments to individuals and economic side. Firstly, on the individual level, people who live alone may experience the feeling of loneliness, isolation and worry. They miss out the support from their family and daily conversation with the family. Furthermore, they also bear the weight of all household bills. In this sense, people may experience the depressed feeling. Secondly, on the economic perspective, a rise in housing demand may lead to the fact that the price of rental houses increases. To sum up, as mention above, one-person households are becoming popular nowadays. I personally agree that this trend brings both advantages and disadvantages to our society.