Intelligence is the most important quality for a leader. Do you agree or disagree?

It is generally thought that intelligence plays a vital role among many qualifications of a leader. I strongly believe the idea that intellectual skills are essential to be successful. Some people say that the ability to maintain authority and discipline is required instead of possessing a high intelligence. Although authority and continuity of the leader are necessary for a powerful country, excessive amounts of these can lead a dictatorship. Furthermore, a qualified figure can easily find better means to obtain power considering the freedom of its nation. For example, countries governed by an over authoritarian figure face many problems that they often have to pay compensation for their wrongful actions of the United Nations. Intellectual ability is key to a successful political figure. Moreover, it can revolutionise all nations and utterly reform, economic, political and social life. For instance, Gandhi took innovative and ingenious steps to develop India and consequently even in a short term the country developed so quickly. In those years, many other countries admired his continuous reforms. Same applied to the founder of the Turkish Republic, he gets his civilized principles from his farseeing and critical thinking abilities. In conclusion, mindset, skills is important and necessary for a good leadership. It is true that continuity of a government is often associated with power, but however qualified figures can handle this issue without destroying social life. I believe that any qualification can compete with intelligence, and thus there are many examples proving being of capital importance worldwide.