In order to solve the traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. what are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

Nowadays, many people are suggesting that governments should impose heavy taxes on car drivers and spend this money on improving public transportation.Certainly, it is a possible solution to reduce traffic congestion; however, this measure has positive and negative influences that will be discussed in this essay. On the one hand, it is evidently clear that paying more taxes than usual is beneficial for reducing traffic jams. In other words, car owners will prefer using public buses instead of using their own vehicles. Therefore, not only the traffic problems will be eliminated, but also the tremendous amount of pollution will be reduced as well. For example, according to a questionnaire administered by researchers at Chicago University, the vast majority of people totally subscribe to the notion that the leading authorities should implement more taxation on car drivers. On the other hand, it is undeniable that a section of people view allocating money for more taxes is unfair and disadvantageous; a lot of people feel that it is a heavy burden for them to pay extra money in taxes while their salaries are fixed. In addition, tackling traffic problems is not their responsibility to take it on. Definitely, this will create a lot of problems between the governments and citizens. For instance, In 2014, In Egypt, about 80% of taxpayers protested against the governmental laws of paying more taxes. In conclusion, In the light of what have been discussed, although collecting more money from individuals to enhance traffic problems could be a smart solution, it still has drawbacks that should be considered.