Nowadays, many people cannot read or write. What problems does this cause? What measures can governments take to solve these problems ?

It is true that in recent years, illiteracy is becoming increasingly serious over the world. This alarming phenomenon poses several threats to society. However, there are various steps that either the government or the residents could take to address these problems. Being unable to read or write may lead to some negative impacts on people. First of all, it may cause unemployment. Obviously, it's such a challenge for people who neither read nor write to have jobs because most of the jobs now require literacy. Usually, they need to read or write a lot to deal with important documents or make a deal with their counterparts, therefore, illiterate people cannot complete these tasks and might not be recruited. Secondly, it may lead to social crimes because the majority of illiterate people do not go to school. There is a fact that by being educated at school, people are taught not only general knowledge but also moral principles, therefore, citizens who cannot read or write may easily break the laws due to unemployment and simply as a result of being uncultured. Anyway, I firmly believe that there are several solutions could be applied to solve this phenomenon. Firstly, resources should be allocated to provide basic literacy classes in local schools or social and community centres to help people to learn how to read and write. Secondly, the government may provide more scholarships and priorities for students who are not afforded to come to schools so that they are given chances to approach education and can read and write. In conclusion, although there is a great deal of people now cannot read or write, I believe that it can be tackled by many possible actions of the government.