Many major cities are facing a housing crisis as they cannot provide enough land for new buildings. Some local governments believe the problem could be solved by reassigning park land for residential development, because this land would be better used for housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As cities struggled to provide areas for the construction of residential complexes, an idea of utilising communal areas—which are allocated to facilities, such as a park—has emerged. I strongly disagree with this proposition because it further induces overpopulation, and erodes the sense of community, which primarily emanates from communal spaces. One of the tendencies of a modern city centre is the lack of capacity. Municipal governments are overwhelmed by people who seek opportunities there, and accommodating those are increasingly difficult. This is because the influx of new residents exceeds the capacity of transportation systems and other services. For example, the government of Tokyo is funding people who are willing to move out from the district due to this facet. Thus, converting non-residential areas into even more accommodations can hinder the government from smoothly providing necessary public services. Moreover, it is worth stating that communal spaces, such as parks and playgrounds, play a crucial role in maintaining a social order. People exchange information and establish mutual understanding in those spaces, and the incremental build-up of trust is paramount. The deficiency of the sense of community, on the other hand, can cause crimes and disorder. It is well-known that the lack of communal bond contributes to the disorder. I firmly disagree with the allegation that communal areas should be exploited to build more housing amidst the lack of residential buildings. This is because this policy would negatively affect the ability of local governments to conduct their tasks, and removing shared spaces is likely to damage the community.