The number of older people is increasing in many parts of the world. What are the effects of this on society as a whole?  What are the advantages or disadvantages of this trend?

Lately, the demographic shift in most of the areas of the globe has led to a marked rise in the number of geriatrics. This trend has taken the position of the young generations at the highest levels in the organisations and an golden-ager also act as a pillar for the society's activities. This essay will elucidate several merits and demerits of this trend with relevant examples to support the same. To begin with, this vogue has copious influence on the community; the prior one is that, geriatrics act as an asset for the family and societal ongoing practices, owing to the experienced gained by them in the previous years. This has led them to be the part of many non-profitable organisations, provided that, a golden-ager is compassionate and healthy to work at their later stages of life. Although some old age people are contented and willing to work, there are many who are the burden for the community as well as the government, because administrations have to bear the cost of their medical well being and the economy treasures are mostly spent on them. For Instance, a survey has revealed that in Canada 45 percent of the funds are allocated for an old-fogey, which is burdensome on the society and the government officials. Indeed, this trend has mixed outcome for all concerned. On the one hand, one of the biggest positives of this vogue is that older people play a role of paramount significance in binding the family and act as a head of the family. To elucidate this view, when the grandparents are living with the family members as they take care of their grandchildren and edify them with moral values and social ethics, which a working parent is unable to inculcate owing to a hectic work schedule. In addition, they have a high profiled experience, which enables them to make decision more precise and in sophisticated ways. For an illustration, In India most of the political leaders are an old-fogey, are maintaining their posts due to skills inculcate in them through a tough long journey. Hence, the advantages of increasing number of older people maintain a family and the country side by side. Nevertheless, when they are healthy, continue their job and due to their job experience profile they occupy the managerial positions in the organisations, making it dispensable for the younger generation to reach up to that level and get a chance of promotion. In addition, the young minds are dynamic and more technology friendly on the counterpart geriatrics is static and the technological automation in recent has laid only a minute effect on their minds, which is not enough to run the nation and the society. Thus, surged numbers of geriatrics has some demerits: taking the managerial positions and their static concern for learning new technology. To conclude, this essay has discussed the merits and demerits of the surging number of the old-fogey in every part of the globe and had justified the influence it cause on the community as a whole with supporting arguments.