Some educationalist believe that non-exam, art based subjects, such as music, drama and art should be compulsory in secondary school curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The massive burden of providing the best curriculum for children rests on the shoulders of high-ranking officials. While some opine that art-related subjects should be mandatory for students, in my view, placing a high value on children's interest and talent is much more significant. On the one hand, art subjects go a long way in improving personal growth for school-goers. To clarify, when they have the chance to participate in some classes, such as music, painting, and even theatre, they are able to interact with many individuals with different backgrounds, which results in increasing tolerance and peace among them to a great extent, since they can understand how to get along well with others with completely different viewpoints. On the other hand, underestimating the importance of motivation to continue some courses is not logical. If principals should force schoolchildren to attend some classes that are not on their favourite list, they may get reluctant to take part in learning environments. Furthermore, some of them do not have any talent in such courses. As a result, they consider themselves inferior compared to their peers, which leads to a decrease in their self-confidence to a great extent. Hence, teachers should prioritise these important factors over obligation. In conclusion, while developing a sense of art among students has a lot of positive effects on their daily life, it does not necessarily mean that authorities should put pressure on them to take these courses. I strongly believe that considering interest and talent as a priority can be much more beneficial to learn each ability.