As a result of tourism and the increasing number of people travelling, there is an growing demand for more flights. What problem does this have on the environment? What measures could be taken to solve the problems?

It is important to consider the environmental problems caused by increased demand for aeroplanes resulting from a rise in the number of tourists. This essay will explain two of the issues caused by this increased popularity and suggest some possible solutions to mitigate these problems. Firstly, one of the most pressing problems caused by rising demand for air travel is that flights cause air pollution by releasing harmful gases. This happens because aeroplanes run on fuel, which produces carbon dioxide and other harmful gases as a byproduct. It is a problem as these chemical gases destroy the ozone layer, which acts as a barrier for harmful UV radiations coming from the sun. Furthermore, these pollutants also cause several illnesses such as respiratory diseases in people. For example, in Delhi, hundreds die every day because of air pollution. This problem can be tackled by encouraging people to use cleaner alternatives, such as electric buses, for short distance travels. This can lead to an improved air quality, thus benefitting the entire society. Another issue caused by this trend is sound pollution, which affects the people and wildlife in the areas near airports. This is because flights have powerful engines which make a lot of noise. For instance, airlines guide their staff use noise -cancelling headphones while working near planes to protect the noise from damaging their ears. This problem can be addressed by encouraging companies to invest more in low noise engines. This could result in reduced sound levels. In conclusion, Two of the problems caused by increased demand for aeroplanes are air and sound pollution. These problems can be solved by encouraging usage of cleaner transport and investing more to develop low noise engines.