People cart eat a wide variety of food that can be grown in other areas. As a result, people eat more food produced in other regions than local food. Do you think the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

There has been an increase of imported foods around the world, and many people prefer them than local grown foods. I think that the advantages are outweighed by the disadvantages. The most obvious benefit of transporting goods over a long distance is that they give people a lot of choices. For example, people prefer imported foods because they can taste a variety of fruits and vegetables from all parts of the world, or local foods might be unsafe. Another benefit is that importing food increases the overall economy. Small farmers in less developed countries might find it more profitable to produce food for markets far away. Also, the whole process of transporting food creates jobs for many people to get employment in this field. On the other hand, it is certainly the case that importing food leads to the loss of local culture and the damage of environment that would be difficult to restore. This can be seen in countries such as Vietnam where the prevalence of imported food from Western countries has endangered the popularity of traditional, local produce. Although this is believed as a natural part of globalisation, it erodes people's understanding of their own food traditions, and any loss of local culture would be detrimental. The environmental cost of importing foods should be recognised. Foreign foods are transported by air or ship and refrigerated to keep them fresh during the transporting process, thereby increasing pollution from exhaust fumes. In conclusion, it is obvious that people and the economy benefit from importing more food grown in other areas. However, the long-term and irreversible drawbacks are much greater.