today many people are travelling. why ? what are the benefits to the traveller?

A growing number of people are inclined to travel nowadays, either for business, educational or leisure and consequently, this trend has resulted in a more tolerant society. To begin with, the new generation is a curious generation, yearning to explore and experience different cultures and customs with exotic dishes, whereas decades ago, people preferred to seclude themselves. To exemplify, increasing number of students worldwide is enrolling in universities internationally to get a glimpse of other parts of the world, while studying. Furthermore, at present, not only people have higher incomes, but are also privileged with numerous and feasible methods of travelling, such as cars, trains and planes. People can hop on a plane and travel to an entirely different continent at a cost-effective fee, without ‘price’ being the major determining factor, as compared to the past. To travel is to nourish one’s soul and mind, as the body is able to rejuvenate itself and temporarily escape the boredom of monotonous urban lifestyle. This is exemplified by large number of people reporting reduced anxiety and stress immediately after their trip. Another point to consider, is that through visitation of different nations, one’s awareness of diverse traditions, customs and race is increased which gives rise to a more tolerant, respectful and appreciative individuals which resultantly benefits the whole society. To illustrate, the majority of travellers admit that being exposed to diverse cultures has changed their worldviews and perceptions dramatically for the better. Finally, international exposure can open up new employment opportunities and have a positive impact towards an employee’s career prospects. In conclusion, as today more individuals are financially capable to fulfil their inquisitive nature and seek out new adventures, they have become more appreciative of the differences globally.