Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not by local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

In recent years, museums and historical sites are less attracted to the local. Although this problem can be attributed to a whole host of reasons, some feasible solutions can be considered to address this. There are some reasons that can shed light on why the locals come to the museums at a low frequency. First, since museums exhibit historical artefacts plainly, the locals become less interested in museums or heritage sites. In fact, museums used to look - and some still do - much like storage rooms of historical objects packed together, which is informative for scholars but not for ordinary visitors, to whom it all looked alike. Second, by enjoying in other leisure activities such as travelling or shopping, the locals fail to spend time in museums. This means that the locals devote their time for working, studying, or entertaining in lieu of visiting museums, which reduces the number of local people come to the museums. Nevertheless, there are some solutions that can reverse the pattern. First, in order to attract the locals, the museums must update themselves frequently. For instance, some historical artefacts should be displayed in the form of modern technologies such as 3-dimension, which will present visitors with a vivid image of historical events or periods. Second, by offering free tickets to the locals, there would be more motivation for them to visit museums and historical places. Taking the Louvre museum in Paris as an example, this place offers free admission to the museum for EU people ages under 25, which is a meaningful and educational approach. In conclusion, although this issue is attributed to a whole host of reasons, there are not without workable solutions for that. In order to receive more public attention, the heritage sites and museums should be altered.