News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

The news editors who determine what to broadcast on television and what to publish in newspapers are influenced by some factors. Erroneous news becomes more and more widespread, so alternative good news is of paramount importance. As far as I am concerned, two elements which impact on the editors’ thought are economy and politics. In terms of the economy, they have been receiving the meagre income. According to a survey conducted in 2019, their income mainly comes from the number of viewers and readers. The higher the rating is, the more money they earn. As a result, the economic factor much influence on the editors’ belief on what types of report broadcasted or published. In regard to politics, political views of editors and their link to a particular party lead to serious problems. To decide what type of news they want to represent, the people assess the programs spelled out in a political party or individual political leaders. Often they cannot make a personal decision and that is merely controlled by oriented leading. Most Americans editors, for example, often give positive information to the president the media companies tend to support during the presidential campaign. There is no denying the fact that there has been an increasing in the amounts of news that contains both positive and negative information, but the problem is those people are getting used to bad news. It is true that about of 90 percent of news Americans read is negative and they gravitate towards shock contents. In addition, it is not only taking a toll on the reputation and honour of an individual but also on our mental health. Experiments have shown that too much bad news can make you sick due to the stress. If the media news is provided frequently, such as educational, scientific and so on, these can motivate the young to achieve more knowledge. That undoubtedly exerts positive influence on the nation. In summary, I believe that choosing news carefully is indispensable to our life. Besides, newspaper offices or media companies should make a decision that is not impacted by the inconsequent factors.