Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. Discuss both view and give your own opinion

Degree is the fundamental right of a person. It leads to an individual progress. There are split opinion regarding universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace or should give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. Some believe that universities should provide essential knowledge to work on organizing. While another group of thinkers support universities should give access to knowledge and student can choose their own. However, both have its pros and cons. Therefore, before commenting on my discussion, both the opinion would be discussed. Examining the former opinion, the primary arguments the supporter would put forward is universities should teach all the knowledge and skills required for working. This is because many start up organisation can't able to tech their employees everything which will take a couple of months. In addition, they also believe that those training periods need to pay for employee. The reason is most of the employees learn everything in the one company and move away to another organisation to work. On the contrary, the latter view suggests that universities can give access to gain knowledge because each student will have different goal someone interested in developing and others in testing may be in designing we can't force the student to concentrate on a particular skill. Beside this, we are taught in all the fields covering basic knowledge, then they can decide on which skill wants to learn deeper. In fact, universities also conduct practical examinations to check the students skill. To conclude and give my opinion, I would say that universities should give only access to gain skills and knowledge is the most appropriate way to deal with this situation. In a big picture, this would provide students to gain knowledge in all the fields.