Some people believe that the government should take care of old people and provide financial support after they retire. Other say individuals should save during their working years to fund their own retirement. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Certain individuals declare that granting the economic assistance and caring of the old population to be catered by the state, while others object this notion, saying that it is the responsibility of the person to preserve the money for their retirement during the youth. My personal perspective is although it is a burden, the authority should fund the elderly crowd because the state has an obligation to do so. To begin with, arranging the financial assistance and looking after the whole elderly community is an extremely difficult task for the government. This is because, the ruling authorities have a plethora of other domains such as health, education to develop, and deploying a large sum for funding the elderly can compromise other sectors. For an instance, recently, Sri Lanka restricted the large annual budget, which was devoted to granting living allowances the elderly, and diverted this budget to the sector of education to be more benefited and productive. However, I disagree with this notion because disregarding the older population is ethically incorrect. On the other hand, implementing strategies to comfort the life of old people is an obligation of the government. In fact, these people productively contributed to the nation during their youth through involving the workforce, and neglecting them in their old age is morally unacceptable. Hence, the country should facilitate their life during the old age. For an example, recently in India, people have protested against the ruling party and compelled to give a pension to all retired individuals because they have served and contributed to the country during their youth. Therefore, I agree with this school of thoughts because the state is responsible for the every category of people in the community. In conclusion, national policies should be established to care and fund the elderly population. This is because, the nation has a strong accountability to safeguard these people, who work for the country, despite the fact that devoting a large budget for the elderly is a great hardship for the ruling party.