In many countries, school-age children are spending their free time in doing homework. Is it a good or bad thing? What is your opinion? Give examples to support your view.

Nowadays, a lot of pupils in their teenage invest their free time doing assignments from school or private academies. In modern society, it seems that only a few children are really allowed to spend their own time doing what they want. I believe that filling all their free time with homework has a bad impact on teenagers. At some point, It is true that having some work such as practice or review after school can be beneficial to students for some educational reasons. A number of children commented that they experienced bad impacts from the massive amount of assignments. What they usually mention about the negative influence is that they do not get enough time to hang out with friends or play some sports they wish to. From my personal experience, I am sure the most important things that we can achieve during school age are making memories and learning social skills. These are not what we can learn from spending all our time in books but from playing outside and being together with friends. Furthermore, letting teenagers plan their free time themselves is also significant. For instance, most pupils in South Korea do not get the opportunity even to think about extra hours for doing extracurricular activities because their whole teenage term is already scheduled to be spent in school, private academy and homework at home. As they grow up to the age of graduation, they will realize that they do not have many memories of their teenage and lack time management skills by themselves. In conclusion, a certain level of control of teenagers' free time with assignments can bring positive effects for them. However, every individual in their teenage needs to be ensured to utilize their free time for self-development. For these reasons, spending free time doing homework is negative.