In many countries people are living in a "throwaway society" where things are used for a short time and thrown away. What are the causes of this and what problems does it lead to?

It is felt by some that single-sex schools are the finest option, whereas according to others students reap the most benefit from a co-educational environment. In my opinion, despite the transient advantages of single-gender setting, attending mixed schools is better for the students in the long run. On the one hand, many people argue that single sex schools allow the students to be comfortable within their learning environment, where they are able to generate efficient results. To illustrate, often girls in co-ed institutions feel intimidated and refrain from joining certain sports programmes, such as baseball that conventionally deem a ‘masculine act’; hence, intentionally hindering their own desires, growth and possibly hidden talents. Furthermore, rising of teenage hormones would be of least concern if adolescents were to be taught separately. A clear example would be of schools in Spain, where a drastic decline in the rate of teenage pregnancies is seen in the same sex schools as opposed to mixed, where early relationships between students are more feasible to form. On the other hand, being taught together allows the pupils to not only develop a deeper understanding of the opposite gender perspective but also acquire enhanced team cooperation and communication skills. In other words, co-education mirrors the real world as it provides ample opportunities for the students to work together and be ready for the future whereas such opportunity completely lacks in single-sex schools. For instance, with at the present competitive market besides academic knowledge, employers are more keen to hire employees who can fully incorporate a high level of social skills, be able to work in a group towards a common goal. Additionally, mixed schools encourage competition between genders and consequently youngsters are more driven to surpass one another to succeed which in turn stems in better results. To exemplify, with the presence of girls in a classroom, boys tend to study harder and better for an exam due to the fear of being inferior in front of their female counterparts. In conclusion, although separate schools avoid issues such as early relationships, they do not provide long term benefits for the pupils, particularly career wise, which is of utmost importance in present day. Hence, I consider mixed schools to be the more appropriate options for the adolescents in the long run.