Some people think that young people should go to university to further their education while others think they should be encouraged to work as car mechanics or builders etc.to serve society. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Although it is sometimes thought that youngsters ought to study at university for higher education, other people suggested them to work, for instance, mechanical engineers or developer, and then contribute to society. In my opinion, I consider that higher education helps teenagers learn the most important skills for their future life. On one hand, some people think that a university education equips the young with professional knowledge and, most importantly, critical thinking and I agree. Teenagers mostly take courses of general subjects such as Chinese, English, and mathematics in high schools and thus are limited to choose unskilled jobs. Until further studying at university, they can select a specific field as a major degree and learn theories and necessary skills related to their professions. Moreover, young people are greatly encouraged to demonstrate intellectual and critical thinking during higher education. This facilitates them to develop logical reasoning which is vital for moral judgment and to be lawful citizens. On the other hand, it is often believed that youngsters should work as a builder in order to contribute to the society. Firstly, Young people are often considered to be fresh and creative. Many innovative companies, for example, Facebook, Google and Tesla, are willing to hire teenagers since they are familiar with new technology and often can bring new ideas to the industry. Secondly, the productivity rate of the young is higher compared to other age groups. Young people generally have better physical condition and are able to work long hours. In other words, their capacity to do work is higher. However, in my point of view, the knowledge gained only from secondary school is not sufficient to work efficiently and professionally. In conclusion, while people may vary their opinions, I believe that teenagers received tertiary education will have better personal growth and can contribute more to society.