Modern societies need specialists in certain fields, but not in others. Some people therefore think that governments should pay university fees for students who study subjects that are needed by society. Those who choose to study less relevant subjects should not receive government funding. Would the advantages of such an educational policy outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Societies of all ages always have a demand for experts in certain fields but not for some other fields, there is no exception with modern societies. With that demand, some people believe that only students who choose useful subjects for communities should be funded by the states, not the students studying in less relevant majors. I believe that this trend gives human society more benefits than drawbacks. On the one hand, this policy may cause an imbalance in education as well as a financial burden on national budgets. With the effects of this, more young people will try to apply to study subjects that are sponsored by the states and there might be more specialists in those fields than demands. For instance, about 2 decades ago, students who chose education as their major in some national universities in Vietnam did not have to pay school fees, and this led to an issue that there were so many teachers that some even could not find a job at school. Moreover, the fact that there are so many students attending subjects that are funded by the government will probably create a huge pressure on the budget of the state and there will be no money for other essential fields. On the other hand, government funding for subjects that are crucial for societies will help to educate enough experts to meet the demand, especially in fields with a low income. Nowadays, most students choose hot majors such as finance, AI, Marketing, and information technology because they can find a good job with a high salary after graduating from university. Fewer and fewer people choose history or geography since there are very few good employment prospects in the future. This might lead to a lack of experts in those fields in the future and that may make an unstable social development in nations. So, scholarships from governments may encourage students who are poor but with good studying abilities to choose these subjects. It is evident that a lot of countries are willing to give full-time scholarships to thousands of students in certain fields every year all over the world and as a result, there is a stable human resource for specialists in nationally important fields. In conclusion, although there are some negative impacts, states funding bring more positive effects to human societies.