Some people believe that children should learn science in school. Others think that it is not necessary to include science in general education. Do you agree or disagree with the statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The debate over learning science has persisted for decades in modern society. Some people argue that children should study science in school, whereas others believe that science is not a critical subject in general education. While public opinion is divided, I firmly believe that it is necessary to learn science in childhood. Science should be compulsory in general education because, without it, students lack basic scientific literacy for health, technology, and civic decisions. Admittedly, some people claim that students have the freedom to choose their courses and subjects in modern society. Learning science may not be useful to students who major in business, history, or languages. Yet it is still necessary for primary students to learn science. The main reason is that learning science can boost children’s abilities. Science courses often include lab sessions where children conduct experiments. It is helpful to teach children hands-on skills. For instance, basic biology and numeracy help teenagers read a medicine label in mg per kg and avoid double-dosing. Energy literacy also allows families to compare an appliance’s kWh per year and choose an efficient model. In addition, it is difficult to understand the theory of science. Thus, comprehending theory can stimulate children’s brains and develop their logical thinking. For example, a scientific theory often needs complex formulas to prove it. When students gather evidence, they might undergo a logical thinking process. Moreover, it is hard to find answers at first, and they might experience multiple failures. As a result, their problem-solving skills are boosted by overcoming difficulties. To sum up, it is not easy to measure the level of influence on a personal career from learning science. From my perspective, Science is a core subject and should be compulsory in elementary school. Once students enter high school and take responsibility for their choices, they can choose any courses they want.