An increasing number of people are now using dating sites to meet their second halves. Do you think this tendency helps people to socialize or does more harm than good? Give your opinion, provide relevant examples if necessary.

There is no doubt that online platforms are so much popular these days. I think this is a growing trend in terms of communication, but drawback outweighs advantages. Dating online has made knowing new people easier, but these relationships are not necessarily long lasting and successful. By surfing the internet, a wide range of matches can be found in a few minutes. People can find their soul mate to be, based on characteristics like age, height and even skin colour, but how reliable this information is. As there is not any proof or certificate, people can easily lie on dating websites even about their education or occupation. I should confess that, although it is not time consuming to find a person online and talking to, I personally prefer to walk into people in person and build a relationship based on the reality. This new method of dating can be both harmful and dangerous. People used to date in universities or at work or in bigger scales with their friends of friends. There might be not enough suitable choices available in such small societies, but the background is somehow trusteable (usually followed by 'to') able to be traced to traceable. Criminals can lie and fake their personality and when it comes to meet in person, they abuse this kind of communication and do different kind of crimes like burglary or kidnapping. Therefore, I think having a variety of choices does not worth to take such risks. In conclusion, I think online dating has helped to have more relationships in quantities but there are some important disadvantages.