Many schools these days have problems with poor student behaviour. Why do you think these problems occur? What could be done to tackle these problems?

Nowadays, an increasing number of schools are reporting alarming rates of badly behaved students. Undoubtedly, this pressing problem has numerous causes, among which, poor parenting and mass media play a crucial role. This essay is going to examine the causes of disruptive student behaviour and propose several solutions. One of the main causes is poor parenting combined with a lack of positive role models at home. These days, some parents are too permissive and have a tendency to allow their children to do whatever they want, do not establish clear boundaries and do not teach their children to communicate in a polite way. As a consequence, their off springs are extremely spoilt and show little to no respect to their teachers. To tackle this issue, the authorities should put pressure on parents to discipline and participate more in the education of their children. For instance, the introduction of mandatory parenting classes could help parents develop skills and strategies to discipline their children. In addition, the educational authorities should set up multidisciplinary teams consisting of educational psychologists and social workers to identify those children who misbehave and liaise with both parents and teachers. Another cause of poor student behaviour may be excessive media use and excessive exposure to digital technology. A growing number of body research shows that there is a link between screen time, attention difficulties and increased risk of disruptive behaviour. Furthermore, numerous children bring their smartphones in the classroom and they send messages, chat on the social network and even watch YouTube videos while attending to the lessons, One solution would be the schools’ administration to ban the use of technological devices during lessons and to monitor the access to the internet. Moreover, parents should monitor their children's screen time and allow access to appropriate content. If these measures were to be acted upon, then the impact on children's behaviour would not be as significant. In conclusion, unless we tackle some of the risk factors that are associated with bad student behaviour, the quality of education and the rapport between teachers and students will suffer.