In many countries, people are now living longer than before. Some people say an aging polulation creates problem for governments. Other people think are benifits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that due to recent scientific innovations, the average life expectancy has increased substantially. Some may argue that this phenomenon is a blessing and should be seen as an opportunity for society, while others subscribe to the idea that the growing population of the elderly is problematic. On one hand, it is needless to say that having a growing number of a certain demographic, which is no longer capable of contributing to society, at least in economic terms, could essentially strain a society financially, as they require care from the government in different aspects, for example, a large proportion of a country’s budget is needed to fund health care and pension for these people. Furthermore, more Job opportunities and accommodations would be occupied by this elderly population, which could take chances away from younger generations. On the other hand, this social phenomenon brings some advantages. Firstly, they can provide support for their offsprings, since in most modern families both parents have to work to provide their necessities, having a helping hand with taking care of their children proves useful. Furthermore, older generations could act as a moral compass for society and help with balancing extreme ideologies that rise day by day, therefore they can guide the next generation through ethical dilemmas. For the aforementioned reasons, the rising population of older members of a society should be considered an intricate matter, which requires a thorough evaluation in order to mitigate its possible obstacles. In conclusion, I would argue that the increasing numbers of older individuals might be an economic burden for the public, however, they do offer a plethora of services to society that should not be overlooked, therefore it should be approached scientifically as it is a multifaceted issue.