Plastic shopping bags contribute to the pollution of land and sea, some think they should be banned. Do you agree or disagree? Give examples of your knowledge.

Global environment faces many hazards these days; however, pollution caused by plastic bags is one of its major threats. It is argued that banning of these kinds of products can reduce their detrimental effects on the globe. Personally, I totally agree with this opinion and I will further explain the reasons below. Admittedly, plastic bags have many hazardous effects on the ecosystem of the planet. One of these hazards is that when they settle down in the ground, animals swallow them by mistake and in turn they block their digestive system. Consequently, they do not eat well, lose weight and eventually they die. In India, for example, on surgical inspection of caws digestive system, more than fifty plastic bags have been found in only one animal. This explains how these bags pose a threat on the livestock. Nevertheless, plastic bags are washed with rain fall in the sewage system of the big cities. This will either block the stream, disrupting the flow and damaging the infra structure or continue to pass to rivers or oceans. As a result, they shred into micro shreds which are eaten by aquatic creatures. This leads to the same above mentioned digestive disturbances to those creatures and kill them. According to National Geographic channel, hundreds of species are at risk of extinction owing to the dire effect of plastic bags. In conclusion, having presented some drastic consequences of using plastic bags on our environment, in my opinion, if these products are not banned in the near future, further damage to ecosystem is expected.