Some people think that we should replace old buildings and houses in cities with more modern buildings. Other people think we should protect old buildings. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The preservation of archaeological monuments has been a prevalent issue in many countries in recent times. Some believe that old constructions can be demolished, and replaced with new ones, while others argue that these structures should be maintained. This essay will first look at the arguments in favour of this before moving on to look at those against it. In spite of the arguments in favour, I strongly believe that traditional buildings should be protected. Modern architecture can be built at a low cost as compared to old constructions, and they attract more tourists from around the world. This is to say, these places offer unique experiences to those people who want to enjoy their vacations with their families with picturesque views. For example, Japan's state-of-the-art modern buildings attract visitors from all over the globe. However, these sites are not generating much revenue to contribute to the economy of the country, and for this reason, I believe that, these properties represent only a fraction of the wealth as compared to other constructions. Ancient sites and residential areas offer history and heritage to the people visiting these plots. Moreover, they are economically viable for those countries who are dependent on their tourism industry for wealth creation. For instance, a country like India has protected their ancient buildings with government funding and now these places are generating various revenue streams for their citizens. This is why, I believe that old buildings should be maintained and protected in order to keep the sense of traditional values. In conclusion, despite the few advantages provided by the newly developed constructions, the overwhelming majority of tourists want to visit ancient cities and, for this reason, I think that, aged places could be preserved.