Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or a negative development?

While some hold the idea that traditional modes of training offer much better results, I believe that providing students with online courses is always a positive approach whose benefits are unparalleled with the conventional schooling system. Offering online courses results in a significant reduction in costs imposed to universities to equip their campuses which in turn would give teaching authorities to be more flexible in scheduling their courses. As a consequence, more students can further their training at a tertiary level. This has been supported by a recent study, which was conducted by the university of Michigan concluding that, in the past decade, the number of graduates from universities in that state has increased by 20% leading to a significant fall in the rates of violence and crime. The study further found out that the percentage of street fights in the city of Detroit have decreased by approximately 35%. Furthermore, having online courses on offer is a leading cause of attracting working people to pursue their learning. This, in turn, can be responsible for a significant increase in efficiency rate of workers, and as a consequence, competition in all job markets would be heightened. The city of New York in the United States serves as an evident example where over the past quarter of a century, a 15% jump in the number of working online students has culminated in a dramatic rise in the product quality of private companies contributing to a 5% increase in the quality of chemical fertilizers. In conclusion, on the basis of having more students enjoying the benefit of having access to schooling as well as a competitive job market, I once again express that online training is a positive development.