Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Nowadays, the environmental issues have become so popular and so important, since the human activities and bad attitudes have strongly affected the nature's balance. New and more effective efforts are needed in order to reduce the impact on the environment. To this extent, some people think that the domestic waste recycle should be compulsory and prompted by some government restrictions, while others are simply disinterested concerning this topic. I totally support the first idea and in this essay I will suggest some food for thoughts. Firstly, one of the main problems is that in most cases the cities' policies failed in defining a good recycling plan. In most cities is still no compulsory to recycle and moreover rubbish bins are no so available in some areas, and this of course discourages good behaviours. Another major issue, is that a lot of people don't care about it, and still do not pay attention to how to recycle. What I mean is that they easily discard everything together. Of note, this negative trend is supported by a misleading policy that do not punish anybody, neither through fines, that instead would really limit this wrong mindset. On the other hand, people who do not care about the environment, would continue to wrongly recycle and also if they would be forced by laws, they would simply find ways to bypass them. It is not just a matter of fines and laws, because people should really understand the issue and react positively to it. To sum up, laws would of course help in improving the right way to recycle and to focus on these boiling topics, unless they probably would not be enough for the ones that need to be brought up on the environmental crisis. I personally believe that laws represent a first step into this battle to make people more aware of what is going on around us.