Some people think that the main factor influencing a child’s development these days are things such as tv, friends and music. Others believe that the family still remains more important. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some individuals argue that, in today's world, the primary contributing factors for children's growth are friends and media, like television and music. In contrast, others think that family continues to have a more profound effect. Whilst the former are, undoubtedly, influencing factors in youths ' development, they cannot replicate the effect that their mothers and fathers can create as a result of their role model status. On the one hand, it must be said that, in the modern world, youths engage far more with their friends, television, and music, as opposed to their families. Whether it be attending school, going to after-school meetups, or partaking in extra-curricular activities, children, undeniably, spend a collosal amount of time being exposed to these influencers. For instance, many youths are known to adopt behaviours similar to their counterparts due to prolonged interactions with them. Yet, even though these can, indeed, influence their development, they cannot have the same level of impact as parents can thanks to their natural role of serving as examples. On the other hand, adolescents are innately predisposed to view their mothers' and fathers' actions as exemplary beaviour. In addition to mimicking their phonological patterns, youths also mimic the actions of their parents. Furthermore, it is widespread for the former to develop similar character traits to the latter. To exemplify this, daughters and sons of rigid, austere fathers tend to be similarly hard-headed and strict; clearly showing an influence. Hence, it is clear that parents, due to their nurturing position in children's early life, play a much more significant role in their growth. To sum up, the effect of different factors on children's development is a controversial topic. And, despite the undeniable impact of things like colleagues and media, it is clear that parents have a much larger effect on this process due to their significance during the early growth process.