While some people consider global warming to be the most pressing environmental problem which we have at the moment, others believe that deforestation has a more devastating impact on our world. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Because of our energy-intensive lifestyle and human activities, the earth is now facing various environmental problems: Extreme weathers, rise of sea levels, melt of icebergs, to name but a few. While some people consider global warming to be the most pressing issues which we have at the moment, others believe that deforestation has a more catastrophic effect of the nature. In my opnion a personal belief or judgment that is not founded on proof or certainty opinion, the later referring to the second of two things or persons mentioned (or the last one or ones of several) latter claim is more plausible, and hence this essay will then discuss the above views and provide evidence as to why cutting off trees is a more serious matter. To begin with, deforestation is relatively more imperative than global warming, considering the causal relationship between them. When more trees or forests are logged down, less plants can undergo photosynthesis. Hence, the ability of the globe to absorb carbon dioxide will decrease significantly, which is why global warming is intensified--the CO2 has trapped the heat. In addition to that, some logger with burn the green area so as to enrich the soil for farming. During this process, more greenhouse gases are generated, which will also lead to global warming. Therefore, as deforestation can cause global warming, it brings a more devastating impact on our nature than merely global warming itself. Besides, in terms of global awareness, deforestation is surely not under the spotlight, comparing with the issue of global warming. It is undeniable that the government around the globe has done various work on tackling the rising temperature. For instance, they have signed the Kyoto protocol and promised to limit their industrial works. As a result, global warming has gained public attention and people are aware of the seriousness of the matter. Therefore, with a high recognition, the adverse impact of such is limited. However, the propaganda or education on deforestation is much less. People do not know much about this issue and its related consequences, resulting a lack of awareness of rectifying the problem. Without any mitigation measures or collaborative efforts, the impact done by deforestation is more disastrous and irreversible. To conclude, deforestation outweighs global warming in terms of the environmental impacts and the availability of relieving measures. Hence, it is my conviction that deforestation has a more devastating impact on our earth. In light of this, we should put more emphasis on such matter and solve it as soon as possible.