It is now possible for scientists and tourists to travel to remote natural environment, such as the South Pole. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Travelling to undisturbed and remote places has long been beneficial for scientific research and a challenge for intrepid tourists and explorers to conquer. However, the shortcomings of such voyages are considerable which far outweigh the benefits. This essay discusses both sides of the aforementioned trip and why I believe the disadvantages are more significant than the advantages. On the positive side, scientists can approach these places to conduct scientific research, which helps us to have a better insight into its habitat, flora and fauna and unveil new secrets about the Earth. Many data have been collected in these places that help us acquire knowledge in many fields that were previously unknown, for example, an abundant number of new species, plants and the islands were explored and the temperature was forecast by measuring the thickness of ice layers in the Northern and Southern hemisphere. For tourists, pristine places like the two poles or the Himalayas offer them an authentic experience of immersing into nature and adopting the way of life that our ancestors used to have before urbanization and industrialization. By contrast, the negative aspects of this trend are significant, far outweighing the positive aspects. The presence of humans in these areas jeopardizes the animals and contaminate their natural habitats, in the sense that many tourists bring carbon footprints when they use planes or boat to reach these places, (run on sentence). They also generate loud noise which frightens surrounding animals. Places like Mount Everest are filled with food packaging, plastic bottles and human wastes left behind by climbers showing us a harsh reality about adventurous tourism. Additionally, such a place inhabits a host of Indigenous People that need protection from outside invaders, and if not, their cultures and languages will disappear. In the past, the arrival of other cultural groups in many places resulted in a massive massacre of Aboriginal tribes, some were chased out of their own territories and others were turned into slaves. Another drawback is that many risks were associated with these trips and it can be extravagant for an average traveller to afford as it needs specialized equipment, fuel for ships or planes and a crew of adept staff to ensure for their safety. To conclude, apart from its benefits like scientists can conduct extensive studies about many areas, but, it is certainly not a good idea for tourists and scientists to travel to these places as humans can cause tremendous repercussions to these places that pose a threat to its habitats and all the species living nearby. The advancement of technology like satellites has allowed scientists to analyse changes that happen in these places without having to go there.