Many schools these days have problems with poor student behaviour. Why do you think these problems occur? What could be done to tackle these problems?

Nowadays, an increasing number of schools are reporting alarming rates of badly behaved students. Undoubtedly, this pressing problem has numerous causes, among which, attracting attention and the overuse of mass media play a crucial role. This essay is going to examine the causes of disruptive student behaviour and propose several solutions. One of the main reasons students misbehave in the classroom is to get attention from their teachers or other classmates. These days, the vast majority of adults are working from dusk till dawn to make their ends meet and as a result they spend little time with their loved children. A new research has shown that almost half of parents spend less than one hour a day with their kids, who in turn look for attention elsewhere, particularly in the classroom. To tackle this issue, parents should try to compensate for the small quantity of time by spending more quality time with their offspring. For example, one afternoon at the cinema, one evening reading a story, another day having dinner together or even a meaningful conversation in the car while driving to the school. All these small things will create a special bond with their kids, which in turn will have a significant impact on their behaviour at school. Another cause of poor student behaviour may be excessive media use and excessive exposure to digital technology. A growing number of body research shows that there is a link between screen time, attention difficulties and increased risk of disruptive behaviour. Furthermore, numerous children bring their smartphones in the classroom and they send messages, chat on the social network and even watch YouTube videos while attending to the lessons. One solution would be the schools’ administration to ban the use of technological devices, in particular smartphones during lessons. Moreover, parents should monitor their children’s screen time and allow access to appropriate content only. If these measures were to be acted upon, then the impact on children’s behaviour would not be as significant. In conclusion, students misbehave at school due to reasons such as attention -seeking, excessive media use or excessive exposure to digital technology. This is a serious problem, and unless parents and the school’s administration will adopt specific measures, the education of children will suffer.