In many countries, people now wear Western clothes (suits, jeans) rather than traditional clothing. Why? Is this a positive or negative development?

In recent decades, Western clothes such as jeans, suits and shirts have become more and more popular in fashion culture in many countries around the world. Although some opinions state that this trend might challenge the preservation problem of traditional clothes, this development needs to be carefully considered as a positive change due to various advantages.  There are a number of reasons leading to this fashion trend. First, the Western fashion seems to have more conveniences in usage when compared to the traditional costumes. For example, to emphasize the formality of the traditional clothes, these clothes are usually designed with varieties of details which could possibly interrupt users when they are working, studying or practicing exercises. Second, thanks to the globalization, citizens of faraway countries are now able to purchase Western clothes with affordable prices. In fact, they can even get better deals with these clothes than the traditional costumes because of the competitions between apparel companies.  Even though the trend has received some criticisms over the years, it has positively affected those countries in many different ways. First, in order to meet demands of Western clothing, garment industry has been invested with more capital and facilities. This action supports not only the development of apparel industry but also the whole economic system in those local countries. Second, along with the substantial economic impact, Western clothing also brings more variety to existing markets, giving customers more options to weigh their decisions. It is clear that people should not be limited themselves by wearing traditional costumes for all occasions.  In conclusion, the Western fashion should be embraced according to its advantages overwhelming disadvantages. From my point of view, one considerable movement is supporting the development of this modern fashion trend along with the preservation of the traditional clothes.