There is an increasing trend around the world of married couples deciding not to have children. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for couples who decide to do this.

These days the proportion of married people without children has increased at an astounding rate throughout the globe. This essay will suggest that the main benefits of couples who have no children can focus on their careers and have more time for themselves, but a limited chance to fit into their peer group and have no one to look after them when they get old are the primary drawbacks. The main advantages of couples without offspring are they can easily concentrate on their work life, and they have enough spare time. That is to say that married people without children have less responsibility and distractions in their lives compared to the couples that have a child which allows them to stay focused on their job. Looking after a child is a full- time job for parents and takes most of their time, while child-free couples have lots of free time after work. For example, many couples stop going out late with their friends after having a child as they must stay at home to look after their children. Despite these advantages, couples who do not have children might struggle to hang out with their peers who have children, and at the time of their elderliness, they cannot get anyone to take care of them. In other words, most parents who have children prefer to spend more time with other couples that have babies as well. Hence, they have limited opportunities to spend quality moments with couples who have children. Parents might suffer more when they get older as there is no one who takes care of them. Children are the ones who take care of their parents when they get old because their parents did the same for them when they were young. For instance, most of the people who live in care homes have no children. In conclusion, the main benefits of staying child-free for couples are that they can be more career-oriented and have more free time for themselves, and the main drawbacks are that they could have problems fitting into their friends’ group and having no one to take care of them when they become older.