Many governments have laws that ban the sale and use of hard drugs such as heroin and cocaine, yet they allow people to buy drugs such as tobacco and alcohol. Laws that prohibit the sale and use of hard drugs should be applied to all drugs, including tobacco and alcohol.

Many individuals we know personally have their vices. The most common of them all are smoking tobacco & drinking alcohol. Abuse of hard drugs such as heroin and cocaine is considered taboo in society and amongst family & friends. I believe the restriction on hard drugs should not be lifted, but the laws on cigarettes and liquor consumption should also be tightened. Consumption of tobacco is indeed the leading cause of various health issues and public concerns. It can cause cancer, heart disease, and addiction to smoking. Secondhand smoke also affects other people with issues of a similar degree. Conversely, excessive consumption of alcohol is also the leading cause of liver disease, diabetes, and an increased risk of cancer. Moreover, it can also lead to rowdy and unpleasant behavior in individuals, leading to physical altercations, domestic abuse, and accidents caused by driving under the influence. Nevertheless, these types of substances should be scrutinized in the same way as the government does for hard drugs. Tobacco and alcohol are substantially less damaging and addictive than cocaine or heroin. For instance, the general public can safely consume alcohol without letting it get out of hand. Plus, it also allows people to get comfortable in a social setting. Smoking is just as bad, but the banning of the substance can lead people to seek out hard drugs, which are tenfold harmful than tobacco. In conclusion, there should not be a ban on the sale of tobacco and liquor legally, as they do pose problems for society. Drugs, however, expose individuals to much higher risks, legally and health-wise. The government should invest in educational campaigns, advertisements, and policies that help citizens make an informed choice.