Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real need of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Advertising is a predominant factor in the exorbitant sales of products in the market with an impactful influence, rather than the actual need of the community. I strongly agree with the above notion; where the flood of advertisements is provoking the customers towards a materialism. My supporting arguments are discussed further. To begin with, the commercials have a detrimental effect on the customer's psyche. The Flood of attractive advertisements is not only introducing newer products to viewers, but they inculcate the desires into them to possess such products. Consequently, the society would motivate towards the materialism. Such scenario will encourage the people for more and more consumption of goods, instead of real need of the society. For instance, the advert of the cold drinks is linked with the stunts and thriller activities to attract younger customers and boost up their sales. Thus, the advertisement plays a vital role in overwhelming sales of goods. Furthermore, the promotions of the products are misleading the consumers towards the mass shopping. Many companies are attracting the customers by availing the offers on mass shopping. As a result, the budget of the family has to suffer the scarcity of the money. Moreover, the most of the luxury items consist of innovative advertisement to provoke the people towards its need in their life. For example, the Commercials of the cars are representing the need of their product for the status symbol and comfort. Hence, people could not resist themselves from wasting their money into it. In conclusion, it is indeed true that the essential goods of the society might not need the promotions. The auxiliary goods are always keen to elevate their annual sales by using effective promotions. Therefore, I agree that the provoking adverts are deteriorating the budget of the families by diverting them from their real needs.