In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. What are the changes which have occurred? Do you think these changes are positive or negative?

It is true that modern life has brought about a number of significant changes in terms of the family structure and the roles of family members. There are some important changes that have taken place, and in my opinion these have been largely positive. Some traditional family roles and structures have now become a thing of the past. Perhaps the most important revolution has been the increasing trend for women to pursue careers, even when they are married. As a result, in many households, husbands now help their wives to do the chores which were once considered ‘women’s work’. The tendency to pursue a career has also had another effect, as couples put their studies and work first before marriage and before having children. Previous generations in Vietnam, for example, would have considered such arrangements as unusual, especially in the case of women. I consider such developments as positive, despite the objections raised by traditionalists. Firstly, in the modern nuclear family, children learn to become independent at an earlier age. Kindergartens and nursery schools offer places for children to play and learn to socialise, enabling working parents to earn enough money for the family to enjoy a high standard of living. Secondly, parents of small families with a double income can invest more in the education and well-being of their children. Consequently, the life chances and choices of those children will be improved if there is enough money to finance later university studies, and gain essential qualifications to make their way in the modern world of work. In conclusion, while it may be fashionable to mourn the loss of the traditional family, it is more realistic to welcome the changes that have taken place as positive, to meet the challenges of the modern world.