More and more young people from wealthy countries are spending a short time in communities in poorer countries doing unpaid work such as teaching or building houses. Why? Who benefits more from this, the community or these young people?

It is true that an increasing number of young volunteers are now doing unpaid work to help communities in developing countries. Some reasons can be identified, and I would argue that both the youngsters and the communities benefit. There are at least two important reasons why I think some youngsters from developed countries spend some time doing voluntary work in communities in poor countries. Firstly, they gain invaluable experience and develop practical skills which they can then add to their CVs. This experience will certainly help them when job-hunting later in their career. Secondly, the motivation of idealistic young people should not be underestimated. The desire to help others less fortunate than themselves comes from a feeling of wanting to give without reward and share hardships, experiencing what it is like to live in a poor Community. Both the host community and the young people benefit. The community benefits because these young people bring their enthusiasm and knowledge, as well as their physical endeavour. Hence, the youngsters may be able to teach literacy and numeracy skills, or they may be strong and energized to help with building houses for those who have inadequate shelter. The young people benefit through the life experience which they gain, living and working alongside those from a different culture. Without exaggeration, it is a life-changing challenge and the youngsters will return to their homes with a much more mature and a broader outlook on life. In conclusion, there are some clear reasons for this volunteering trend and I believe that everyone benefits – it can be truly be said to be a win-win situation.