The first car appeared on british roads in 1888. By the year 2000, there maybe as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that introduction of stricter rules for owning a car and its usage is important due to the increase in usage of private cars and it is also necessary to encourage citizens to use other transport forms. Although high use of self-owned vehicles has its disadvantages like pollution and traffic congestion, I do not agree that international laws should be made in order to own and use a car as it would lead to job redundancies. It is irrefutable that using a personal car has multiple negative consequences. Firstly, the Carbon dioxide released from the vehicles is very harmful for the environment. Global warming, for instance, is a result of increasing pollution, which has led to the rise of water levels in the polar regions. Secondly, high traffic is a common sight in most of the metro cities at present. Due to this a lot of valuable time is lost in travelling which could have been used to practice any skills for self-improvement. However, the automobile industry also plays a critical role in the economy of any country. In other words, it generates a lot of employment opportunities for both low skilled and high skilled workers. For example, according to employment journal published in 2019, 5% of the employed workers in India were from car manufacturing and allied industries. Thus, bringing in international laws to reduce the number of buyers for a privately-owned car would mean a reduction of car units which might cause loss of innumerable jobs. In conclusion, although I believe that every government should encourage their citizens to use their public transport system, they must also avoid creating laws that stop them from buying a personal vehicle as this might indirectly cause a loss of livelihood for many of its native.