Some people think public libraries are necessary, others believe that the public libraries are useless. What is your opinion and provide with some relevant examples.

As technology keeps developing, some people declare that public libraries are no longer useful, while others insist that they are still necessary. In my opinion, public libraries are important and should not be removed. On the one hand, electronic books are becoming popular because of the development of computers, cell phones and tablets. People can read e-books much more convenient to a portable device, instead of reading an actual book. In addition, people can search all types of books through the Internet without spending a long time looking for books in a library. The internet and portable device are such convenient and efficient tools for reading that it is understandable for someone to claim that public libraries are not required any more. On the other hand, a public library not only provides abundant books for the general public, but also offers them a quiet and comfortable place to read. Someone may find it difficult to concentrate on reading at home due to all kinds of distractions, such as noises generated by family members, TV programs and video game playing. However, they would not face such an issue reading in a library. Additionally, large amounts of public libraries are equipped with modern tools, such as the Internet, computers and even portable device, hence people can get access to sufficient reading resources in a public library. Furthermore, some public libraries are so historical and stylish that they can even serve as tourist attractions to visitors from the globe, so that they can boost the development of local travelling industry and make contributions to economic growth. To conclude, regardless of the development of portable e-books, public libraries are significant to the local area and they should be maintained well.