Some people think language class should be taught in small class, others think the number of students does not matter. Do you agree or disagree?

In modern society, learning language has become essential because of rapid globalization. However, there is a controversial topic is the issue as to whether students should be taught languages in small-size or large-size classes. Although some consider it makes no difference to students, I personally believe that students in small classes can grasp a language faster and more accurately. The primary argument may be raised by the opponents is that the size of classes as an objective factor does not play an overriding role in one’s learning progress. Educational studies have indicated that language fluency results from the combination of three subjective elements, namely learner’s eagerness, after-class practices, and the persistence in learning. To be specific, instructors can only impart to students vocabularies and grammars, so only attending classes and listening to teachers is far from enough for people to master a language. Learners themselves need to spend lots of time practicing and try to use the language in their daily lives. Notwithstanding the aforesaid opinions, I would argue that, in general, small class sizes are more advantageous for language learners due to the following reasons. Firstly, not all students is self-oriented and in small-size classes, teachers can provide more individualized support. As a practical matter, while in classes crowded with participants, lecturers seem to be overworked and not be able to help all students; with fewer students in classes, they can supervise each of the top and bottom students with personalized instruction to ensure that those learners receive the proper guidance as they need. As a result, whenever learners make mistakes in organizing a sentence or pronunciation, their teachers will spot them in time and give them instant guide. Furthermore, if the number of in-class students reduces, there is less disruption and interruption, resulting in better concentration and making the class more efficient. In conclusion, although many adopt a view that it is not necessarily important to teach languages in small classes, I opine that the larger classes are, the less effective outcomes will be.