Many people say the gap between rich and poor people is wider, as rich people become richer and poor people grow poorer. What problems could this situation cause and what measures can be done to address those problems?

It is true that the gap between those who are rich and poor is becoming greater in many parts of the world. While economic inequality can cause several problems, there are solutions that can be adopted to tackle these issues. To begin with, the increasing gap between rich and poor people might bring about some negative consequences. Firstly, this can lead to great disparities in the level of health care and education services that people can access. For example, while young people who come from a wealthy family can afford to study abroad, poorer ones tend to find it hard to approach high quality education. As a result, life seems unfair for individuals who live below the poverty line. Secondly, since impoverished people are getting relatively poorer compared to others in society, it is more difficult for them to cover their basic needs such as needs for food or accommodation. Therefore, they could be more likely to involve crimes such as robberies or burglaries, which leads to higher crime rates. Fortunately, there are some effective solutions to these problems. The first one would be to provide special educational opportunities for people coming from an impoverished background. For instance, universities can offer grants for poor students, which helps these students become competent workers in the future and earn a living. Additionally, the government should apply tax and pension systems which favour poor citizens. To be specific, those who earn more money should be required to pay higher tax than others. This would help minimise economic inequality in society. In conclusion, while greater disparities between rich and poor people can contribute to several issues, there are some good measures that can be taken to deal with these problems.