Do you think it is good to push students to study hard in their youth?

While some people contend that forcing children to put more efforts in studying while they are young will benefit them later in life, this essay is written to support the opposite notion. On one hand, there is no denying that education is an important part of one’s life which can greatly affect their chance of being successful. Children who are taught well as schools and colleges are generally more cultivated, confident, and well-behaved, characters that are desirable in a civilized society. For that reason, encouraging youngsters to study hard in their youth is a good way to ensure a high chance of their success in the future as well as being accepted by their peers. On the other hand, it should be reminded that, besides studying, children need to participate in other activities, such as sports and social events, for a healthy life. Kids who submerge themselves in schoolwork can become socially isolated as they rarely communicate with their peers and family members. Lacking an involvement in physical activities also result in children suffering many illnesses such as diabetes and obesity. Furthermore, studying too much can prove to be counterproductive as it can leave deleterious effects on young kids’ psychological well-being. The pressure for improving and maintaining a high academic performance may push students into suffering many mental diseases such as anxiety or depression. In these cases, not only parental pressure on children will not help them to achieve better grades at school but also put them in dangerous positions. In the light of the aforementioned facts, it can be concluded that making children to study hard can bring many disadvantages, such as physical and psychological harm. Although education is a prominent element to enable children to succeed in their adulthood, it is unfavourable to put too much study pressure on them.