Nowadays, some parents pressure their children to be successful in a specific field. What are the reasons? Is it a positive or negative development ?

In the present scenario, compelling children to be successful in a certain career by parents are becoming common. In my opinion, lives of children who are under constant pressure often ends up as a failure. Nevertheless, parents think that their children will become masters in a particular area and will lead a better life than them. A common reason for this has always been about living wonderfully that they crave for through their children. They are often unaware of the child's mentality while imposing their interests and passion upon their children. Moreover, parents are blindfolded in order to understand the actual potential of their children because the only thing that they dream about is a well settled future. For instance, one of my friends was ardently interested in commerce. But his father pushed him to opt the science field for making him a doctor. He wasn't able to adjust with the stream and gave up. There are several similar cases and undoubtedly, such children become depressed and melancholic with thoughts to attempt suicide. Parents need to understand about the actual talent in their children. Some of them might make good doctors or engineers. But that doesn't mean that everyone will become one. There will be several other courses in which your child's zeal lies. As parents, we have to allow our children to find their impulse and to treasure the miracle they actually are instead of shutting the windows upon their dreams. To sum up, it's high time for parents to be best friends to their children learning more about them and supporting them in every situation. Allow them to live the way they want despite of our whims and fancies. Let them have their cup of tea and savour it to its brim!