In today's world, private companies rather than government pay for and conduct most scientific research. Do you think the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

The involvement of private companies in financially supporting and carrying out scientific activities has both benefits and downsides. This essay will elaborate more on my viewpoint on the issue. On the one hand, not only do private firms provide researchers with more favorable conditions, but the efficiency of findings is also emphasized. Since private companies have a financial advantage over the government, they can provide impetus for more efficient research procedures with a prominent workforce and state-of-the-art technology. For example, several science studies into medicine invested by private pharmaceutical companies are conducted by groups of eminent professionals specialising in biochemistry around the world with the aid of advanced laboratory utensils. In addition, administrative operations and the evaluation and quality control process of private firms areis often placed under closer supervision, compared to state-funded research. Hence, their findings tend to have better application in real life while potential procedure errors are minimized. However, private businesses' investment in scientific studies could be a drawback to the public. As these enterprises are apparently profit driven, the researches funded by them often lack objectivity, or even severely biased in order to generate favourable findings for the investors. Obvious examples of intentionally misleading researches can be found in the pharmaceutical, chemical nutrition and petroleum industries all over the world. Another issue is the possibility of neglecting non-profitable, yet useful scientific researches. As most business’ priority is revenue, some valuable studies to society that bring little profit may not be aided and conducted. In this case, state-supported research is preferable because governments attach great importance to the benefits of the public. In conclusion, despite some distinct benefits related to the efficiency and quality of scientific research when private sectors are involved, the disadvantages of this involvement can outweigh advantages. Therefore, governments play an important role in making these studies more practical and beneficial to the public.